Awards of Excellence 2014

Article Index
The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) Awards of Excellence (AOE) were created in 2000 to recognize those distinguished individuals in a specific geographic location who serve as role models through their significant achievement in a chosen field, through community service, or by exemplifying Justice Thurgood Marshall’s commitment to justice, civil rights and education. The events are annual reminders of Thurgood Marshall’s legacy and by celebrating like-minded leaders, partnerships are forged by the AOE honorees and sponsors to support the students at TMCF’s 47 member-schools that include public Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), medical schools and law schools.

The Awards of Excellence regional events are intended to:
  • Increase awareness of TMCF and its programs 
  • Raise funds 
  • Provide a platform to identify and nurture potential national supporters 
  • Provide a forum for TMCF to foster internships and job placements for TMCF scholars 
  • Showcase TMCF students and member-schools
These prestigious events have been held in: Philadelphia, at the National Constitution Center; Charlotte, at the Bank of America Building/Founders Hall; Tulsa, OK at the Hyatt; Greater Newark, NJ at Nanina’s In The Park; Louisville, KY at the Hyatt Regency; Detroit, at the African American Museum; Memphis, at The Peabody; Seattle, at Benaroya Hall; Jackson, MS at The University Club; Richmond, VA at the Jefferson; Baltimore, at the Reginald F. Lewis Museum; San Francisco, at the Hilton and Nashville at the Country Music Hall of Fame.